Frequently asked questions by the
residents of the township:
I need a well before I get a building permit?
am not satisfied with the March Board of Review's decision.
What is my recourse?
I failed to pay my property taxes on time. Where do I pay
I want to build on my
property. What do I need to do?
I want to do some open burning
on my property. Do I need a permit?
I want to protest my
Assessed or Taxable value's on my property taxes. How do I go
I would like to rent the township hall. How do I go about this?
What are the requirements to split property?
What is a Homeowner's Principle Residence Affidavit?
What is a Property
Where can I purchase a plot map of Greenwood Township?
|A well must be
installed and a well log submitted to the Zoning
Administrator prior to the issuance of a residential home
building permit. This is obtained through Environmental
Health Division, St. Clair County Health Department, 3415 -
28th Street, Port Huron, MI 48060 (810)
|If a property
owner who has protested an assessment to the March Board of
Review is not satisfied with the board’s decision, the
property owner has the right to appeal to the Michigan Tax
Tribunal. Michigan Tax Tribunal, P.O. Box
30232, Lansing, MI 48909
taxes may be paid at Greenwood Township. A one percent
penalty is added each month through February. However, any
taxes not paid at the end of the winter tax period, usually
Feb. 28th, must be paid at the St. Clair County
Treasurer’s office located at 200 Grand River Ave., Suite
101 in Port Huron.
CSB Bank located in Yale will not accept any late
Some land improvements and building construction can be
done without a building permit, but all
improvements, land and building, require a Zoning
Compliance permit. Separate permits are required for each
construction project. This includes but is not limited to:
signs, fences, ponds and Agricultural Buildings.
Demolition of any structure requires a review by the
Zoning Administrator and may require a Demolition Permit.
This information is given to the Township Assessor so the
assessed value of the structure can be removed from the
Permits to burn are required under the
State of Michigan Ordinance and must be renewed
annually. You may call Station #1 at (810)-324-2305,
Station #2 at (810) 387-9009 or the Greenwood Township
Hall at (810)387-4044 to obtain a permit and to notify
when you will be doing any burning. The Burning Ordinance
#2003-03 will explain all requirements and restrictions.
There is no charge for a Burning Permit.
property owner may appear before the March Board of Review
for one or more of the following reasons:
Taxes are too high; To claim a
hardship; Tentative taxable value is too high; Valuations
are correct, but are higher than other property in the
area similar to the taxpayer’s property; The Assessor
has the wrong classification on the property.
would like to rent the Township Hall. How
do I go about this?
Any Greenwood Township property owner
may rent the Hall. A Hall Rental Agreement must be attained before
renting the Hall. It costs $150.00 to rent which includes a $100.00
deposit and a $50.00 rental fee. After rental, the Hall is inspected
for cleanliness and/or any damage. If everything is found to be in
good condition then the $100.00 deposit is returned after approval
of refund at the following Township’s Board monthly meeting which
is the 2nd Tuesday of the month. All Hall rentals are
scheduled and handled by Joan or Doug Huston (810) 387-3481. The
Office does not schedule any rentals.
split requirements include, but are not limited to:
a.) Minimum of 5 acres, minimum size for 5 acres
(330’ x 660’)
b.) Minimum of 330’ frontage
c.) Depth to width ratio shall not exceed 4:1 for any
parcel 10 acres or less
d.) Minimum of 25’ from any existing structure to a
proposed property line
There is a $50.00 fee for the first split and $25.00 for any
additional split. Proof of adequate easements for public
utilities: Detroit Edison, Verizon Telephone, SEMCO Energy
(if applicable) and St. Clair County Road Commission. Proof
of ownership of proposed division/s and a survey of the
proposed division/s are also required. Please refer to Land
Split Requirements in the Resident - Forms section of
homeowners need to be aware that a Homeowner’s
Principal Residence Affidavit must be filed with the
Assessor if they intend to occupy their new home as their
principal residence and want the exemption of 18 mills on
their tax bills. You must own and occupy your home by May 1st in
order to qualify for that year. You may print a
Homeowner’s Principal Residence Form from the Residents:
Form section of this site.
A Property Transfer Affidavit must be filed
whenever a real estate or some types of personal property
are transferred (even if you are not recording a deed).
This form is required by the State of Michigan under Act
415, P.A. of 1994 and is to be filed by the buyer,
grantee, or a transferee of any property. It must be filed
with the Assessor within 45 days of the transfer or a
penalty of $5.00/day (maximum $200) applies. This form is
usually provided at your closing. You may print a PTA form
by referring to the Resident: Forms section of this site.
Plat maps may be obtained from the St. Clair County
Conservation District Office located at the USDA Service
Center, 2830 Wadhams Rd. in Kimball Township. Phone: (810)
984-3001. The cost is $27.00 which includes sales tax.